Skip to content
September 4, 2015 / fionamakes

Named Inari tee dress

I have stalked the Inari tee dress pattern from Named Patterns for so long now! It must have started on Instagram where I saw so many versions on this dress. Now, the dress is a loose fitting one and so, I think has the potential to turn out less flattering but it must be some great drafting because I have loved all the versions I’ve seen so far! 

Loose fitting but not frumpy is always good! 

  

So for my test version, I purchased a red tencel linen from Chinatown. The fabric has quite a nice drape and feels very comfortable to wear. I shortened the pattern a couple of inches (Named patterns are drafted for someone who is 172 cm tall and I am just 158cm!), and I am quite happy with this length. My favorite part of the dress is how the side seams twist slightly to the front.

  What I didn’t liked out this red dress was that the armscye turned out to be too big, so the dress tends to ride up if I lift my arms too much! I also thought there was a little too much ease in the body of the dress. 

So I decided to try again, this time going down a size. Since this was a smaller size, I reduced the amount of length that I took out to around 1 1/2″. 

  
The fabric I used this time was a printed cotton sateen from my local Spotlight. I really liked how the print looked like a watercolor painting of flowers. And I thought the Inari pattern would allow the print to shine. 

  
The armscye on this one is such a better fit for me! But the fabric has a lot less drape this time and so overall the dress looks more boxy. I don’t really mind it that much but I think if I were to make this again, I’d use the smaller armscye with the width of the next size up in a fabric with less drape. It’s all about combining the different elements!

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. feltiefare / Sep 4 2015 6:04 pm

    So elegant 🙂 Especially the red one – I love it!

    • fionamakes / Sep 6 2015 2:09 am

      Thank you! I was sure I would like the floral print one more but now, I’m leaning towards the red too!

  2. Dani Malloy / Sep 4 2015 6:36 pm

    Tencel linen sounds amazing! I just sewed an Inari up in tencel denim and I love it. You’re right—this dress is totally about choosing the right fabric. Love yours! (That red looks fantastic on you.)

    • fionamakes / Sep 6 2015 2:25 am

      Thanks, Dani! Tencel denim sounds pretty good too, I’m tempted to give it a try in that fabric!

  3. Amy-June / Sep 4 2015 6:49 pm

    Love this dress – especially the red version! I don’t think it would be a good shape for me, but it looks so comfortable I might make one anyway!

    • fionamakes / Sep 6 2015 2:10 am

      Thank you! I wasn’t sure about the shape for me too, but for some reason, it seems to work for lots of people!

  4. teri dodds / Sep 6 2015 1:55 am

    These both look great, Fiona! The fabrics are so pretty! I felt like the armscyes were low on both of the knit versions I made. I want to experiment with going down one more size to see how I like it. I need to try a woven version, too. I feel like this dress is magical since it looks great on everyone!

    • fionamakes / Sep 6 2015 4:48 am

      Thank you, Teri! Yes, you’re right! Somehow this pattern manages to look on everyone!

Trackbacks

  1. Inari Dress, Named Patterns | Sew Busy Lizzy
  2. Spring sewing projects – Bec's Makes

Leave a comment