Skip to content
December 7, 2015 / fionamakes

Hatteras hoodies

My littlest, L, professed such love for my latest Linden sweatshirt that I just had to make her a sweatshirt of her own. And I had just enough of the white quilted knit left over from my Linden. 

  
I decided to go with the Hatteras hoodie from Hey June patterns, and chose the version that was without the hoodie. I’d bought the pattern on a whim when it was released because it came with a discount. I really like how the side seams twist to the front. It’s a really nice detail. I tried to accentuate that with some silver piping I dug out of my stash. I remember picking up the piping at the store and wondering what I’d ever use it for. Well, good thing I followed through and bought it, huh? 

  
The sweatshirt has a high-low hem. I decided to use ribbing for neckband, waistband and sleeve cuffs because the quilted knit doesn’t have a lot of stretch. And I like how the color contrast turned out. 

Naturally, big sis had to have her own sweatshirt too, once she laid eyes on little sis’s. 

  
Hers is made with a steel blue quilted knit, left over from my husband’s yet-to-be-blogged Paxson sweater. Same silver piping but with purple rubbing. E’s gotten to the stage where she really doesn’t like to be matchy matchy with her sister. She’ll get to be matchy matchy with her dad instead, but she’s happy about that prospect!  

 
The sweatshirts are such a quick sew which is really nice. And the quilted knit feels very cozy. I’m hoping they will work out great when we travel to a wintry climate next week. 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Abbey (abbeydabbles) / Dec 7 2015 3:29 pm

    Both of these are LOVELY! You should take a family photo showing how beautifully you all match.

    • fionamakes / Dec 7 2015 4:12 pm

      Thank you! That’s a great idea, I’ll have to do that!

  2. guerillagarms / Dec 7 2015 4:40 pm

    SUCH CUTENESS!

  3. Meg / Dec 8 2015 2:43 am

    Cute! I love the silver piping! I bought this pattern in the pack with the Halifax hoodie for adults- can’t wait to make one!

Leave a Reply

