Skip to content
December 2, 2015 / fionamakes

Going away presents 

We are in December! How’d that happen so fast?? 

This and November were pretty busy months for us. Apart from all the travelling that we’ve been doing and will be doing, we’ve also had to fit in saying good bye to several good friends. One family is moving away to a different part of Singapore and so moving on to a different church. And another family will be moving to Thailand to begin a new season of training to become missionaries. For the first time, our children have to say good bye to friends that they’ve known almost their whole lives, and whom they meet and play with regularly every week. It’s been a sad, bittersweet experience for them. 

The family is that moving to Thailand has three girls: the older girl is about my E’s age and the younger twin girls are around N’s age. 

As a going away present, I made a few outfits for the girls. Their mom had a few pieces of fabric that was gifted to her, so that is what I worked with. 

First up, a Roller Skate dress. As the fabric is very striking, I wanted to use a pattern with as few lines as possible. 

  
I’m really happy with how it turned out. The fabric has a slub texture which made it a little hard to sew but otherwise construction was quick. 

  
A little triangle button to close off the dress. (And this pic is a truer representation of the color of the fabric.)

Older sister also got a Made by Rae Geranium tunic
 

This one got the notched collar and raised pink buttons down the back. And for the first time, I went with the gathered skirt. The fabric feels like a cotton batik. 

   
 
The younger girls got two Geranium dresses. I’ve made so many Geranium dresses by now that I can whip one out very quickly and that was what I needed since I was working with a time crunch. 

  
  
Nothing much to add about these: they just have the basic rounded collar with a pleated skirt. 

Making these dresses felt a little emotional. For me, it was a way to say good bye to their family. As much as we are excited for them, it still feels sad to see them go. Sewing was therapy for me!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Inder / Dec 2 2015 9:20 pm

    Wow. Absolutely stunning fabrics!! And wow wow wow are you fast! So many dresses! They just go on and on! Haha.

    • fionamakes / Dec 3 2015 4:39 am

      Thanks, Inder. I picked quick and easy patterns so that I could get them done fast!

  2. fiveandcountingblogspotcomau / Dec 2 2015 9:36 pm

    How kind of you.
    I am sorry your little girls will be losing some close play friends. I hope they will still write to each other.
    xx N

    • fionamakes / Dec 3 2015 4:38 am

      Yes! I’m hoping they do! I’ve already picked up some letter writing sets from Daiso, so my girls are all set!

  3. Irene / Nov 13 2016 11:41 am

    Hi there! Just wanna ask where did you all buy those kind of fabrics. Does sg carry all those? Hope to hear from u. Thanks.

    • fionamakes / Nov 13 2016 11:43 am

      Oh no, I didn’t get these in SG, they were gifts from Myanmar or Thailand, I think!

Leave a Reply

