Skip to content
September 9, 2015 / fionamakes

Watercolor Clover shorts

Hello, friends! 

I am happy to report that despite her self-declared aversion to shorts, this pair that I made for L has been in her regular rotation! Yay, it’s a win for me!

  
You’ll recognize the fabric as the cotton sateen that I used for one of my Inari tee dresses. I hate to waste leftover fabric, and shorts for little girls really are a great way to use up remnants! 

The pattern I used for these shorts is the Clover shorts pattern by Welcome to the Mouse House. I had bought this pattern last year when it was on sale in the hope that one of my girls would grow to liking shorts again! 

  
The gamble paid off! The shorts are easy to construct, and have a separate waistband piece, which I much prefer over the fold-over-to-make-a-casing-for-the elastic option. 

  
I topstitched the pleats down to make sure they were super secure. 

  
My only regret is not going up a size. They fit pretty well now, so she’ll probably outgrow them way too soon!

  
Styled by L!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kercatsews / Sep 9 2015 10:06 am

    Such a pretty choice of fabric, and they came out as something you could buy in a nice clothing store. Well done!

    • fionamakes / Sep 10 2015 1:27 am

      Thank you! That’s such a nice compliment! šŸ˜Š

  2. Dani Malloy / Sep 9 2015 9:00 pm

    Adorable, and the topstitching looks so neat!

  3. Amy-June / Sep 9 2015 9:15 pm

    Oh these are gorgeous! I hadn’t realised they were child sized until I got further in to the post … I sort of want to make them for me hehe! Great job!

    • fionamakes / Sep 10 2015 1:30 am

      Haha! I wish I had had enough to make some shorts for myself too! When I went back to the fabric store, they were all out of this particular print!

Leave a Reply

