Skip to content
December 15, 2015 / fionamakes

Kate top

Hello, friends! I hope you are all well as we head into the Christmas season! 

Today I’m sharing a new top I just made for myself. The pattern is the Kate top pattern from Tessuti. It’s a very simple sleeveless cropped top. Perfect for Singapore’s weather. 

  
I dug into the stash for this fabric. It’s a Kaufman chambray with a crosshatch texture. Very simple and versatile. 

  
I had the idea to add a row of sequins around just the neckline. The neck and armhole bindings are applied to the wrong side and then flipped out and sewn down on the outside of the top. After I finished the top, I hand-sewed the sequins on the bias binding, picking up just the top layer of fabric. 

  
I had the sequins in my stash already! I think I bought them to make Christmas ornaments that never materialized, but at least now I’ve put them to some use. 

  
Because I chose to sew the option with a higher neckline, the back has a faced slit. A faux mother-of-Pearl button closes the top. I seriously love these buttons as they go with everything. Wish I had more of them but my local shop seems to have stopped carrying them. *sad face*

I am planning one more Kate top with a lace overlay on the front but for that, I want to remove the bust darts. Something to do for next year! 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. springystitches / Dec 15 2015 1:38 pm

    A lovely neat finish and I love the way you have used the sequins – nice work!

  2. teri dodds / Dec 16 2015 3:20 pm

    This is a great basic top and I love how you added the sequins to give it some sparkle! It looks great on you. I am looking forward to seeing your lace version when you get to it!

Leave a Reply

