Skip to content
December 23, 2015 / fionamakes

Paxson sweater

Hello, sewing friends! We are on our annual family vacation, so I send greetings from Japan! 

Since it is cold enough, I finally managed to get photos of the Paxson sweater I made for my husband. 

  
The fabric is a quilted knit with a lovely leaf pattern, that I bought online from Japan. It feels very cozy, but doesn’t have too much stretch. I had some head-scratching moments when I bought the Paxson sweater pattern and found out that it needed fabrics with a significant amount of stretch. 

Eventually I decided to size up one size. I made sure to measure the pattern pieces and realized that I had to shorten the sleeve length. 

  
Construction was very straightforward. There’s no hemming involved at all since there are cuffs for the sleeves and a hem band. But I found the neckline somewhat perculiar. When I first made the sweater, my husband was away so I tried it on myself when it was done. That’s when I realized that the neckband stood up away from the neck. I hoped that it was did that on me but it was the same on my husband too, as you can see in the first photo. I’ve seen this is a couple of other photos online too. I’ll have to redraft the neckline if I make this again. The husband isn’t too bothered by the neckband thankfully and has already worn it on two trips to wintery climates! 

This will probably be my last post for the year. After our vacation it will be full on get-ready-for-school mode! 

Blessed Christmas, friends! I hope you have a season filled with joy and peace!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. SewSouthLondon / Dec 23 2015 2:09 pm

    What a great fabric! Hope he’s enjoying wearing it!

Leave a Reply

