Skip to content
November 12, 2015 / fionamakes

A basic City Stroll skirt

Hello, friends! I seem to be losing steam on the sewing and blogging front, now that it’s the end of the year. The kids are off their regular school schedules and holidays are imminent, which means sewing time will be drastically reduced. Good thing I have a few more things that I’ve sewn but have not yet blogged. 

After my first City Stroll skirt, I decided that I needed one more, but in a basic color that would go with more of my tops. 

  
The fabric is a lightweight cotton indigo fabric that could pass for denim if it were any heavier. I really like the dark indigo color. 

  
The pockets and hem facing were cut from scraps leftover from my Cotton and Steel double gauze Onyx top. I had the scraps still out after I had cut out the pattern pieces for the Onyx top, and it makes me happy to use up as much of the scraps as I can. 

  
I don’t have much else to add, other than this skirt will get a lot of wear since it is such a basic color. I can’t think of a top that I have that won’t go with it. Yay for basics!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Inder / Nov 12 2015 9:47 pm

    Great outfit!!! The dark denim is so practical, but those pretty facings really set this apart and make it special. Is that a Maya top?

    • fionamakes / Nov 14 2015 2:13 am

      Thanks, Inder! You’ve just made me realize that I never blogged this top! Must remedy that. It’s Simplicity 1377.

  2. Lodi Srygley / Nov 13 2015 1:49 am

    Hi Fiona! I love your blog, AND this skirt. I don’t remember the shirt (which I love). I’d love to hear more about your life. (Singapore?) You said your kids are off school. Like our summer vacation in the US? Fascinating! I look forward to all of your posts!

    • fionamakes / Nov 13 2015 11:36 am

      Hi Lodi, thanks so much for reading!

  3. teri dodds / Nov 14 2015 4:23 am

    That is a great basic skirt and it really is so flattering! I love the dark indigo color with that pretty top! I am always so curious about your home because you have such a great patio for taking photographs. I always imagine that you live in a palace with that gorgeous balcony. Haha!

    • fionamakes / Nov 14 2015 8:48 am

      Haha! Your comment made me laugh out loud! It’s definitely not a palace, maybe I should do a house tour some time!

Leave a Reply

