Skip to content
October 28, 2015 / fionamakes

Quilted knit Linden

More cold weather sewing today! It’s been a rainy morning here, after a few hot and hazy days, so I’m definitely looking forward to colder temperatures. 

  
I really decided to make this sweatshirt on a whim. It’s something I don’t ever see myself wearing here in Singapore since it never gets cold enough for it. But once I got the idea in my head, I had to do it! 

I already had the Linden sweatshirt pattern, and the two short sleeved versions are in regular rotation in my wardrobe. This is my first long-sleeved one though. I was heavily influenced by this version. I like the split hem detail a lot, but I’ve only just realized I forgot to get a good shot of it! 

  
I posted a pic of it on Instagram, but that was when the hem was just pinned in place. 

I lengthened the pattern pieces about three inches, I think, with the back piece longer than the front.  The fit is pretty good, and there’s enough room under the sweatshirt to pull on a t-shirt first. The really nice thing about the Linden is how quick it is to sew up once you’ve figured out your sizing. 

  

I got this knit on clearance from Miss Matatabi when I got some birthday loot for myself. It’s very cozy and I’m looking forward to making good use of it when we travel at the end of the year.  

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Meg / Oct 28 2015 4:07 am

    Awesome fabric! Your Linden looks great! I’m totally sewing cold weather clothes, too, even though it’s hot, hot, hot in Bangkok… is it weird to sew a flannel shirt just for a one week trip to the U.S.?

    • fionamakes / Oct 28 2015 7:14 am

      No! It’s not at all weird!! It’s what I’m doing!!!

  2. teri dodds / Oct 31 2015 12:02 am

    I love this sweatshirt and I’m planning a similar one soon. I have some French terry waiting for me to find the time. I’m on a bit of an Archer kick right now and then I need a few more Lindens to get me set for winter!

    • fionamakes / Oct 31 2015 7:16 am

      Thanks, Teri! Would love to see your versions, and your Archers too!

Leave a Reply

