Skip to content
October 20, 2015 / fionamakes

A Jac shirt in voile

Hello, everyone! I’m sharing a new top today! 

I recently decided to take stock of my wardrobe. Sewing on such a regular basis means that I keep adding to my wardrobe, but space constraints mean that I have to be more thoughtful about what I make next. After taking stock, I realized that there isn’t really anything that I need urgently. What to make next then?? Well, I have a few trips coming over over the next couple of months and next year that will necessitate some cold weather clothes. Long-sleeved shirts and sweaters it is then! 

I saw this shirt just recently here, and promptly decided that I had to make one too. The funny thing is, I’ve seen this pattern before, and was never really interested in it. I changed my mind when I saw it in polka dots though! 

  
I dug deep into my stash for this voile. I bought it ages ago thinking that I’d make it into a dress, but I never got past the fact that I had to line the dress, and so the fabric languished in my fabric box. Anyway, it was great for this shirt since I had enough yardage. 

  
There are some really nice details in this shirt. The back wraps around the front at the side seams and finishes at an angle at the hem. The sleeves have split hem, which also adds some interest. 

  
There’s no yoke at the back but since the shirt is meant to be quite oversized, I don’t really mind. I shortened both bodice pieces and the sleeves by an inch and I’m quite happy with where the top ends now. 

The shirts has a proper collar stand and collar, with only 1/4″ seam allowances. I did find this a bit fiddly to manage so I might increase the seam allowance to 3/8″, then only trim them down after sewing. 

  
Now to cut into some Nani Iro brushed cotton for another Jac shirt!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Oct 31 2015 12:05 am

    This looks so nice, Fiona! I love the color on you! I hope you can wear it more than just on your upcoming trips.

    • fionamakes / Oct 31 2015 7:16 am

      Thanks, Teri! I hope to get more use out of it too!

Leave a Reply

