Skip to content
October 3, 2015 / fionamakes

Long culottes!

After making my first two pairs of Emily culottes, I started to wonder how a longer pair of culottes would look on me. Well, I finally got around to give it a go. 

  
I lengthened this pair by 6″ (I’m 5 foot 2), and took a total of 2″ for the hem. I took about 3″ each off the width of the front and back legs, so that works out to a total of 6″ off the width of each leg. I thought this was necessary because the legs seemed much too wide otherwise. Then, I angled the side seam down. From the top of the front and back leg pieces, I drew a line down to the narrowed hem. 

  
I’m quite happy with how this turned out. The fabric is a silvery brown fabric with a nice drape. I’m pretty sure there’s some polyester in it though, because I managed to scorch it a little when pressing the crotch seam. Oops. 

The longer length of the culottes needed a more crop-ish top, so I made an Onyx shirt to match. I knew the Onyx shirt was avoid fit for me, as I’ve made it before. But the original length was too long, while the crop length was, erm, too short for my tastes. So this length is about 1 3/4″ off the regular length. 

  
The fabric is Cotton and Steel double gauze (not Nani Iro, which was what I’d originally wrote!). I really love the colors of this print. I had much better luck with matching the stripes of this side of the shirt than the other, which is why you get to see this side seam! 

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Muse / Oct 3 2015 2:21 pm

    Good job!

  2. Jess / Oct 3 2015 3:19 pm

    I think it’s cotton and steel double gauze not nani iro … Both beautiful fabrics, though …

  3. teri dodds / Oct 5 2015 4:08 pm

    These look so nice on you! I have loved seeing all of the culottes that are popping up on sewing blogs, but so far I have been too scared to make any for myself. I think this longer length with a less full leg could definitely work for me. I may become a culotte wearer yet! Your top is so pretty, too!

    • fionamakes / Oct 6 2015 3:15 am

      Thank you, Teri! I think a less full leg is a good idea to try! Hope you get around to it, would love to see!

Trackbacks

  1. A basic City Stroll skirt | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

