Skip to content
September 26, 2015 / fionamakes

Scalloped hem shorts 

Hi, everyone! 

Living near the equator means that I seem to need shorts year round, so I decided to dig deep into my pattern stash for this pair of shorts. 

  I’ve actually had this pattern from Pattern Runway for a long time now. I remember making a pair once, but then they turned out too big. In a fit of pique, I threw the shorts in my refashion pile and decided to forget about this pattern. 

Well, I’m glad I gave this pattern another chance. I cut a size smaller and found the fit much better this time. I also made sure to practice making welt pockets before attempting them on the shorts. 

  
It can get a little confusing, as there are several pattern pieces for the back welt pockets. But I love the end product. There aren’t any unsightly seams on the inside! 

 
I used my favorite method of applying bias tape to the bottom edge of the waist yoke to finish it. And the hem is finished by hand with invisible stitches. 

  The top is a knit version of Grainline Studio’s Scout tee. I’ve also had this pattern for forever. This iteration has a woven back and knit front. And I cut a neckband to finish the neckline. To be honest, I only made this to stash bust. I had a little of this geometric poplin left and an odd sized piece of this sage green knit. There was much joy when I realized how well they matched and how this pattern would use up the remnants! 
All in all, this is a great wearable outfit for me. 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Inder / Sep 28 2015 9:15 pm

    Super cute!!! I love the scallop shorts, and they look as good on the inside as on the outside! Beautiful finishing!

  2. teri dodds / Oct 5 2015 9:22 pm

    I love those shorts and I would totally wear them inside out if I were you because the insides are amazing! Next time I make something with a waistband I need to remember your trick for finishing the edge with bias tape. So professional!

    • fionamakes / Oct 6 2015 3:14 am

      Haha! Only us sewists would appreciate the nice insides!

  3. Amy-June / Oct 18 2015 10:19 am

    Love love love the shorts! I’ve been looking for some good short patterns for a while so I shall check these out! Isn’t it great when things look as good on the inside as they do on the outside? Yours are super professional!!

Leave a Reply

