Skip to content
September 17, 2015 / fionamakes

A City Stroll skirt and a top to match

Hello, friends! 

It was my birthday a few weeks ago, so to celebrate, I bought a new pattern and some precious fabric to make myself a new skirt. I will use any excuse… 

  
I’ve been eyeing the City Stroll skirt pattern for a while now. I’ve seen a few versions made up on the blogosphere but not too many. But then, I saw this Nani Iro canvas made up into a backpack, and I kept thinking that the fabric would look great as the wrap skirt. I couldn’t get it out of my head so I had to give in, of course. 

  
It turned out just like I thought it would. And although I had a few misgivings about how well the skirt would stay closed, I am happy to report that I had no problems at all!  

  
I skipped using buttons to close the skirt and instead used two snaps at the inside flap and a bar and hook on the outer flap. I didn’t want any buttons interrupting the print of the fabric. I used up a remnant of cotton poplin as the hem facing. Stashbusting!

  

I made up Simplicity 1366 in a white textured fabric to match the skirt. 

  
I must be one of the last people around to sew this top – it’s a pretty popular top in the blogosphere. I did find the neckline a bit too wide for my liking, and I had to shorten the sleeves because they felt more comfortable above my elbow. Otherwise, it’s a really versatile white top that will go with a lot of bottoms in my wardrobe. 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. megret1979 / Sep 17 2015 1:43 pm

    I love this skirt- looks great! Perfect fabric choice.

  2. teri dodds / Sep 19 2015 3:27 am

    This is a beautiful outfit! Good for you splurging on fancy fabric for your birthday!!

  3. Tracy / Nov 1 2015 9:52 pm

    I love this skirt too, and it looks great on you. I bought the same fabric, also for a skirt, so now you’ve inspired me to get on and make it!

Leave a Reply

