Skip to content
August 19, 2015 / fionamakes

An Onyx shirt in cotton lace

Hello, everyone!

I’m sharing another top today. This cotton lace fabric was a pretty random buy. I’m not usually a neon person but this fabric was lying on the clearance table at Spotlight. So I bought it completely on a whim, with no idea what I was going to make with it.

Then a couple of weeks after that, I came across this new pattern for a woven tee. Paprika Patterns was also a new-to-me pattern company. I can’t seem to resist these simple woven tee patterns – I must have quite a few already, but I’m always tempted by the boxy (and hence comfortable) shape.


The Onyx shirt is different from my other top patterns in that it has a dropped shoulder, optional sleeves and a fairly high neckline. The pattern also has a cropped length with darts.


I knew I was going to use bias tape for the neckline but was a little nervous about how that would hold up. I fortuitously found some matching bias tape in my stash and went for it. I’m happy to say it worked out nicely and has held up over several washes already.


It’s a simple make with some nice details. The cuffed sleeves are constructed slightly differently from usual cuffs but this results in a nicely enclosed seam. There are sleeve tabs included in the pattern. I left them off only because I thought there was a lot going on with the color and lace already.


The back hem dips slightly longer than the front.

I need to get around to trying out a sleeveless version. And maybe a slightly longer version of the cropped length.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. megret1979 / Aug 19 2015 3:38 pm

    Pretty! The white + neon color combo is great on you! A touch of neon never hurt anyone šŸ˜‰

  2. teri dodds / Aug 25 2015 2:43 am

    This is such a pretty shirt! I really like the touch of neon mixed with the white lace. I am a sucker for these boxy tops, too– they’re so easy to make and fun to wear.

Leave a Reply

