Skip to content
August 12, 2015 / fionamakes

School Bus tee with a gathered peplum

L put in her own request for a red t-shirt once she saw her sister’s. And since she needed one for her school’s National day celebrations, it was just the push I needed to get it done! (Singapore just celebrated our 50th year of independence with a Jubilee weekend- it was festivities everywhere!)

  
I used the School Bus tee pattern again. L turns 6 next month so that’s the size I cut her. I cut off the pattern about three inches from the bottom of the armscye. The gathered part is just a rectangle, with a width roughly one a half times the width of the bodice pieces. 

  
The neckband and pocket are cut from scraps of Briar Rose jersey. It’s like the fabric that keeps on giving! I keep cutting bits to use here and there. 

  
The red bamboo jersey was bought locally in Chinatown. It really does feel quite wonderful against the skin. It’s soft and drapey, which worked nicely with the gathers. 

  
Hems were finished with a honeycomb stitch from my sewing machine. I tested the stitch on a scrap first to make sure that it allowed for some stretch. It did, and adds a nice detail, I think. I’ve been noticing that my twin-needle-stitched hems tend to have broken threads after a few washes so I’m hoping this stitch holds up better. 

  
She loved it and has already worn it twice in four days, so it’s a win!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Aug 13 2015 2:44 am

    She is adorable! That is a very cute little shirt. I like the honeycomb hem a lot!

  2. Thimberlina / Aug 13 2015 6:54 am

    Aw, another cute make and a happy little girl lovely! 😀

Leave a Reply

