Skip to content
August 5, 2015 / fionamakes

All aFlutter 

Hello, friends! Last week was pretty special – we celebrated our wedding anniversary! We’ve been married 14 years and together for 16. Naturally, I had to make a new outfit to celebrate! ( Not that I need an excuse to sew a new outfit but when there is one, I’ll take it!)

  
I had this length of silk that the husband had brought back from Beijing some time last year when he was there for work. He went fabric shopping for me! Yeah, he’s pretty great. 

After some online research, I decided to try out Papercut Patterns’ Flutter blouse. I thought the dramatic flutter sleeves of the top would do justice to the silk. I had seen a few pretty versions of the tunic online too.  

 
The neckline and sleeve hems are finished with silver satin bias tape. The back neckline dips down in a V. I do feel like the pattern was drafted for someone with wider shoulders as it feels like the blouse wants to fall off my shoulders. I was in too much of a time crunch to make a muslin, so that’s what I’d change if I make the blouse again. 

I used black satin to make a simple but dressy pair of pants to go with the blouse

 

And yes, it’s the Lola pant pattern. Again. That’s three so far! 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Abigail / Aug 5 2015 11:42 am

    Love the pants and top! Nothing wrong with more pants!

  2. teri dodds / Aug 7 2015 1:57 am

    That blouse is so pretty! I haven’t seen that one before. The back is so dramatic! It looks great with your satin pants!

Leave a Reply

