Skip to content
July 23, 2015 / fionamakes

A tee and more culottes

Hello, friends! Today, I’m sharing an outfit that came about because I was trying to use up some remnants bits of fabric. 

  
After cutting out one more pair of leggings for my older daughter, I had a bit of this striped Riley Blake knit left. I turned into a Maria Denmark Kirsten Kimono tee. This pattern came free when I signed up for their newsletter. It’s got everything I like in a top: kimono sleeves (so there’s no need to insert sleeves separately), a neckline that provides nice coverage, and a loose and comfy fit without being too boxy or slouchy. The pattern as-is was a little too long for me, so I shortened it a bit. Maybe two cms or so. The instructions have you cut the neckband and sew it up into a loop before attaching it to the bodice front and back. But this really depends on the stretchiness of the knit you’re working with. What I did in the end was to sew up one shoulder seam, attach (while stretching) the neckband, then finally sewing up the other shoulder seam. I find this takes a lot of the guesswork out of how long a neckband you need. And I will probably always use this method of attaching t-shirt neckbands from now!

  
And another pair of Emily culottes. I had just enough fabric after cutting my Alder shirtdress. I was happy after laying out all the pattern pieces and finding that it was enough!

I left off the patch pockets this time because I didn’t have enough fabric, but I’m thinking of drafting some angled side pockets if I make this again. Nothing else to add about the fit. I was happy with my first pair so this is the same. 

  
The waistband facing is finished off with my favorite method: store-bought bias tape. 

  
Not a bad outfit for a stash bust!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Inder / Jul 23 2015 6:18 pm

    Ahhhhh, it’s the Alder fabric again! I have a major crush on your fabric! LOL! I love it in the culottes, I want a pair just like them! I’ve also sewn with the Riley Blake stripes, and they’re nice, right? The fabric has a nice heft to it, stretchy but decently behaved.

  2. teri dodds / Jul 27 2015 3:23 am

    I love your trick for finishing off the waistband facing. Earlier today I was ironing a pair of shorts I made and thinking how messy the waistband facing looked. I will have to try bias tape next time– it just looks so neat and polished. I’ve seen it in my ready to wear pants but never thought to try it.

  3. lauralu / Jul 29 2015 2:03 pm

    I love the culotte fabric!

Leave a Reply

