Skip to content
July 16, 2015 / fionamakes

Maya meets Lola

You know that precious cut of fabric, the one that you love so much, you’re afraid to use it? Well, this was that fabric for me. 

I bought a cut of this Nani Iro fabric (called Shine Many Ways) some time last year. It’s a nice smooth cotton sateen and the print is just so lovely. And then I thought for a LONG time about what to do with it. 

  
In the end, the Maya pattern won. I wanted a pattern that would allow the fabric is take centre stage. I had already made the Maya before so I knew this would do nicely. The facings were stitched down with a light blue thread. 

  
The pants are StyleArc’s Lola pant again. I wasn’t kidding when I said I was going to make more! This time I used an indigo cotton tencel fabric that I bought locally. It’s light and so comfortable but has less drape that the fabric I used for my first Lola. It’s still a nice basic pant though. I kept the pockets but left off the elastic In the back hem again. 

  
All in all, an outfit that will get a lot of wear, I’m sure.

One last photo, because she was so delighted to successfully photobomb me! 

  

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Abigail / Jul 16 2015 1:44 pm

    Love the top! Nani Iro fabric is the best.

    • fionamakes / Jul 17 2015 3:50 am

      Thanks, Abi! It is, isn’t it? I’m on a mission to free them from my stash!

  2. megret1979 / Jul 16 2015 2:48 pm

    Just lovely! Isn’t Maya the best for showing off a gorgeous fabric?

    • fionamakes / Jul 17 2015 3:57 am

      Thanks, Meg! Yes, the Maya is perfect for it! And I haven’t even tried the button version!

  3. teri dodds / Jul 16 2015 8:23 pm

    That fabric is soooo pretty! Why don’t I have the Maya top pattern yet?? Between yours and Meg’s I have become quite certain I need one (or 5) of my own!

  4. Inder / Jul 16 2015 10:32 pm

    Such a nice combination!!! I love these together. That top in that fabric, it’s just luscious. You excel at lovely wearable basics in special fabrics.

    • fionamakes / Jul 17 2015 6:20 am

      Thanks, Inder! Yes, that’s exactly what I was going for!

Trackbacks

  1. Floral Maya Top | Fa Sew La

Leave a Reply

