Skip to content
June 30, 2015 / fionamakes

Oh Lola! 

Hello, everyone! 

Today, I have my favorite-est pair of pants ever! 

  
I must say first of that I had spent a long, long time trying to decide which pattern to use. It was going to be either the Tessuti Suzy pant or StyleArc’s Lola pant. Both have very similar silhouettes but the Suzy pant has a yoke and pleats. Eventually, I finally decided on the Lola pant because I had recently tried another pants pattern from Stylearc and I’d found that the crotch shape seemed to suit me. 

  
I used a poly CDC that I found at Spotlight. It drapes nicely and has a nice weight to it. The fact that it’s a crepe made it a bit spongey though, and unpicking was tough because the stitches sank into the fabric! 

The slant pockets are supposed to have zippers but I left them off. Still, it’s a little tricky sewing the pockets while being careful not to stretch out the fabric since it’s cut on the bias. The elastic for the waistband is not so much inserted, as it is sewn in. I like the technique a lot as it ensures that the elastic doesn’t shift in the waistband. The waistband also has a small flat panel at the front to minimize gathers there. It’s so great!

  
There’s supposed to be elastic inserted the back hem of the pant legs. I didn’t find it necessary though so I left the elastic out. The pant legs seemed tapered enough already. 

I love these pants. The elastic waistband is super comfortable and the fit for me is great! I want to make 10 more!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. megret1979 / Jun 30 2015 12:40 pm

    Cute!! I tried a pair of Style Arc pants recently and was really happy with the fit, too!

    • fionamakes / Jun 30 2015 1:05 pm

      Yeah! I was so happy I didn’t have to make any changes to the pattern, which is unheard of for me when it comes to pants!

  2. Abigail / Jun 30 2015 9:50 pm

    Those pants look good on you! I’m glad you find a pattern that you like, that’s always a good idea!

  3. teri dodds / Jul 1 2015 12:41 pm

    I have been deliberating about these pants for a while. Your look perfect! I may have to get the pattern now.

    • fionamakes / Jul 1 2015 3:32 pm

      Thanks, TerI! I’m so happy with my pair, I think I’m going to just stick with this pattern from now on!😜

Trackbacks

  1. Maya meets Lola | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

