Skip to content
June 2, 2015 / fionamakes

An Alder dress

I’ve had this idea to pair this silvery-coppery denim with the Alder shirtdress pattern for a long time now. It’s just been percolating in my head, but then I finally got around to it! 

  
(Please excuse the wrinkles! I sat down on the floor to cut out some fabric for my kids to bring to school for a project and then this happened!)

I was inspired by the shirts in my husband’s closet, so I decided to use a floral contrast for the inner yoke, inner collar band and bias bindings for the armholes and hem. I bound the hem in the same way I bound the armholes just because I liked how it looked. 

  
  
Modifications- I left off the collar piece. It was a last minute decision! I decided to follow the pictures from the Alder dress sew along on Grainline Studio’s blog, rather than refer to the instructions from the pattern. Jen includes an option there for making a mandarin collar, which I much prefer anyway.

I also left off the top two buttons. The real reason was because my sewing machine gave up, but I’d never use those buttons anyway, so they were fine to leave off. 

  
After finishing the dress, I decided to add on some ties at the back. The dress has quite a lot of volume, and I wonder if it would have looked better if it were shorter. My quick fix was to just use ties to take up some of that extra volume. 

  
I’m happy with it! 
Linking up to Gray All Day’s linky party. 

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Hila / Jun 2 2015 6:51 am

    Beautifully done!👏👏. I love your details with the floral yoke and the hem facing! I printed out this pattern and need to tape it. Hoping to make one before summer is out.

    • fionamakes / Jun 3 2015 1:44 am

      Thanks for your kind words! It’s a great pattern!

  2. sewbusylizzy / Jun 2 2015 7:17 am

    I love all the details. Beautiful Alder!

  3. Inder / Jun 2 2015 10:01 pm

    I really love this dress! The fabric is stunning, I love the floral facings, and the ties are genius!!! They really give the dress just that tiny bit of shape that it needs. I am totally going to steal that idea!

    • fionamakes / Jun 3 2015 1:45 am

      Thanks, Inder! Yeah, the ties were a last minute addition! It was the simplest way I could think of, so I’m glad they worked out!

  4. Ginny / Jun 3 2015 12:07 am

    What a perfect Alder! The ties are an inspired addition!

  5. chacha / Jun 3 2015 5:29 am

    Yep, the ties definitely make a difference on this dress 🙂 Love the fabric choice as well!

    • fionamakes / Jun 3 2015 1:45 pm

      Thanks! I’m so glad I decided to add the ties!

  6. Noelle / Jun 3 2015 9:10 pm

    Love the fabric for this pattern. I haven’t tried an Alder yet, but the ties are a nice touch and I quite like the mandarin collar variation. Nice job!

    • fionamakes / Jun 4 2015 12:50 pm

      Thanks, Noelle! It’s a nice pattern, everything goes together nicely, so I hope you give it a go!

  7. teri dodds / Jun 4 2015 12:18 am

    This is one of my favorite Alders! I love your fabric pairing and I agree that the ties are a genius idea. They really help give the dress a little more shape.

    • fionamakes / Jun 4 2015 12:51 pm

      Aww, thanks for the kind words, Teri! Yours was one of the versions that caught my eyes early on!

  8. megret1979 / Jun 6 2015 2:56 am

    Gorgeous dress- that fabric is so pretty and unique!!

Leave a Reply

