Skip to content
May 25, 2015 / fionamakes

A Maya top and denim skirt

I’m slowly making my way through my list of garments made but not yet blogged! 

  
When it comes to tops, my favorite tops have a cap sleeve and a loose fit, so the Maya pattern is pretty much perfect for me. It’s very simple and easy to sew. The neckline and armholes are finished with facings that are topstitched down. This adds a subtle detail on the outside of the top. The kimono or cap sleeves are cut as one with the bodice. 

I went with the hip length top with a curved hem. The fabric is a Lisette sateen I bought from Spotlight last year. I love the striking blue. 

The skirt is a simple denim skirt with a flat front and elastic back waistband, from this Simplicity pattern

  
A friend commented that it looked like I was wearing a dress in the picture above. Now, I’m quite intrigued by making up the Maya in a dress length but color blocked. The pattern also comes with a button option down the front; I’d like to try that out at some point too. 

  
The length works well tucked into my Emily culottes too. 

I’m linking up to see it Chic at Gray All Day.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / May 25 2015 2:13 pm

    I loved this too when you shared it on Insragram. The fabric is so pretty and it coordinates really well with your dark denim and your gray culottes. I’ve been kicking around getting the Maya pattern and this top pretty much convinced me that I need to do it now!!

    • fionamakes / May 26 2015 1:14 pm

      Thanks, Teri! So glad you like it!

  2. rillafree / May 25 2015 6:20 pm

    Thank you so much for choosing to make my pattern! I love your fabric choice and those culottes are ace. Totally how I’d choose to wear it! Look forward to seeing what you’ll make next! šŸ˜‰ xxx

    • fionamakes / May 26 2015 1:14 pm

      Thanks for the great pattern, Marilla!

  3. Abigail / May 26 2015 1:19 pm

    I just love the top! So cute!

  4. Helena@grayallday / May 27 2015 1:58 pm

    Such a lovely color and the drape is really nice with this pattern. I would wear that top all the time!

Leave a Reply

