Skip to content
May 18, 2015 / fionamakes

A Lunchbox tee and a Peplum

There’s been some unselfish sewing going on!

I’ve been noticing that E has been needing some new t-shirts, so in between sewing for myself, I’ve been making some for her. Kid-sized t-shirts are great! They don’t take much fabric and fitting is so easy! 

  I’ve been eyeing the Oliver and S Lunchbox tee and culottes  for a while, mainly because I love the adult versions – the Bento tee and the Girl Friday culottes. I haven’t yet been able to convince my girls to give the culottes a try, so I started with the Lunchbox tee first. 

I made a color-blocked version only because I had a remnant of the Heather Ross strawberry jersey that wasn’t big enough for a garment on its own. 

 
The gray is a bamboo jersey I bought locally at Chinatown. It’s very soft and drapey so E loves how it feels! 

Another tee I was keen to try out was the Pretty in Peplum pattern. I thought it’d make a dressier looking tee that would still be very comfortable. (I’ve learned the painful way that if I want E to wear what I make, it has to be comfortable above all else!)

  
She loves how the Art Gallery knits feel so thankfully, she’s a fan of this tee! 

The neckline on this tee is finished with a facing instead of a neckband. While I do like how it look nice and finished on the outside, I think in general, I’d much rather use neckbands for knit tees. I’m not a fan of how the facing seems to just flop around on the inside, so I’d probably change the neckline if I make this again. It should be easy enough to use the neckband from the Lunchbox tee. 

 
E is wearing her After School pants but they seem to just keep getting shorter on her! 

I’m linking up to Sew and Show at Straightgrain

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Masha / May 18 2015 1:31 pm

    I really like that color blocked one. Nice job!

  2. teri dodds / May 18 2015 6:14 pm

    These are both so cute! I’m saving all of my knit scraps so I can make t-shirts for Caroline when she gets a little bigger.

  3. Laura / May 21 2015 8:19 pm

    The colorblocking is great! I think I like it better that way. What great tops for summer!

    • fionamakes / May 23 2015 7:28 am

      Thanks, Laura! Colorblocking is great for using up fabric remnants, that’s why I love it so much!

Leave a Reply

