Skip to content
May 12, 2015 / fionamakes

An outfit for Mother’s Day

This really is one of my favorite outfits so far this year. It’s very comfortable (always important!). The only thing is that the glittery top seems more dressy to me, so it’s not really something I’d pick for my daily wardrobe. It’s ok for a slightly more special occasion though! 

 
The top is Grainline Studio’s Linden sweatshirt pattern. I made this up at the beginning of this year but only just got around to wearing it! I chose to make up the short-sleeved version because it’s never cold here! The fabric is a metallic french terry I found in the remnant of a fabric store in Kyoto. I had just enough yardage! Phew! 

  

The pants are StyleArc’s Tessa pant. This was my first try with a StyleArc pattern. They recently started offering their patterns as PDFs so I decided to give them a go when they had a sale last month. 

 
The pants have an elasticized waist and inseam pockets. I’m quite happy with the fit. I adjusted the pattern slightly to have a completely enclosed channel for the waistband elastic. I also shortened the pant length by a total of 5 inches. (I’m 5″2.) The pattern has to lengthen/shorten lines, one above the knee and one below. I used both lines, which I think has helped the pant keep its shape. 

  
Close up of the fabric. The pant fabric is a cotton tencel blend with a very nice weave, that I bought locally in Chinatown. It feels a little loosely woven though, so I put in some reinforcement stitches at the the pocket openings. 
I’m linking up to Sew it Chic at Gray All Day.

One Comment

Leave a Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Oh Lola!  | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

