Skip to content
May 4, 2015 / fionamakes

Bess and Mabel

A long time ago, I bought a few pieces of double knit from Spotlight. Well, I finally put them to some use. 

I used the Mabel skirt pattern to make a simple knit pencil skirt with a waistband. The double knit is quite thick and feels a little spongy. It doesn’t have much recovery though, so when I was joining the waistband to the skirt, I sewed in a piece of clear elastic, that I cut to the length of the waistband and sewed it in without stretching it. 

 
It’s a very comfortable skirt. 

The top is the Bess pattern. This time I cut the higher neckline and I think I like it better. The front is a piece of batik I bought in Langkawi, Malaysia last year. I’d bought it as a souvenir rather than for a specific garment so I only got a metre, not enough to make the top on its own. After rummaging around in my stash, I found a piece of lightweight shot cotton that would work. All the curves are finished with strips of Laguna jersey in orchid. 

  
 
The top is a little on the long side, but I am liking how it covers the back.  

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Inder / May 4 2015 9:46 pm

    I wore a Bess blouse and Mabel skirt on Saturday!!! šŸ˜€ I love the contrasting fabrics you’ve used here, and even though I usually prefer lower necklines I agree that a higher neckline suits this style better. Well done!

    • fionamakes / May 5 2015 12:26 am

      Thanks, Inder! I saw your Bess and Mabel on Instagram and loved them too!

  2. rachael {imagine gnats} / May 12 2015 7:24 pm

    ooh, I love it!!

Leave a Reply

