Skip to content
March 24, 2015 / fionamakes

Maritime shorts

Why did I wait so long to make these shorts??!

In my continuing quest for more shorts for my everyday wardrobe, I pulled out Grainline Studio’s Maritime shorts pattern from my pattern stash. I made sure to make up a muslin first as I’ve made the Moss skirt and I had to adjust the waist quite a fair bit. 

  

This is my first proper version after the muslin! The fabric is a stone-coloured denim from long ago. I had used it to make a Moss skirt previously and had just enough for one more pair of Maritime shorts. It’s the best feeling to finish up a remnant piece of fabric! 

Changes I made after making up the muslin:

– pinched out a total of 1 1/2″ at the back waist seam. 

– lengthened the shorts by 2″ (and subsequently 3″ in my other iterations to be sewn!) with a scant 1/2″ hem allowance. 

-lengthened the right waitband piece at the centre front. While the left waistband fit perfectly, the right one wasn’t long enough! I extended it by a generous 1″ at the centre front, then after sewing down the CF seam, I just cut off the excess seam allowance. 

– bound the waistband facing with bias tape instead of folding the seam allowance in. My RTW shorts are finished this way so I decided to use this technique instead. 

  

 

To keep as much length as I could, I used seam tape on the hem. 

 

 Fun scraps for the pocket lining 

 

  

 Back pockets 

This denim is pretty stiff and doesn’t have a lot of give so I’m curious to see how this will look in a different fabric. 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dani Malloy / Mar 24 2015 1:47 pm

    I love all the finishing inside—these look great! I’ve been toying with sewing this pattern for my first pair of shorts… I think I’ll take the plunge.

  2. Inder / Mar 24 2015 6:30 pm

    They look great! Inside and out! I think the Moss Skirt will be my next Grainline try (and my first attempt at a zipper fly ever?! eek!), but I do love this pattern too … maybe this summer!

  3. teri dodds / Mar 24 2015 8:23 pm

    I got this pattern last summer but didn’t get it made. I definitely need mine to be longer than the pattern is drafted– I’m so glad to see yours look great with a longer inseam. The insides are soooo pretty. I will have to remember the bias tape on the waistband. I have noticed a lot of my RTW pants/shorts have that feature. It’s a great place to use a fun contrasting fabric!

  4. ClaireM / Jul 14 2015 10:05 am

    Your shorts rock! I really wish I had the motivation to finish the inside as nicely as you have -overlocker only for me 🙂 The fit is fantastic too!

    • fionamakes / Jul 14 2015 11:36 am

      Thank you, Claire! I don’t always have the motivation too, so I have to seize the moment when I do!

Leave a Reply

