Skip to content
March 15, 2015 / fionamakes

Selfish Sewing week #2: A Bento tee and a pair of Esther shorts

A couple of weeks ago, I was suddenly seized with the idea of making shorts. I have only a few pairs in my wardrobe, most of which were store-bought and don’t fit me well. It was time to remedy this. 

I chose the Esther shorts from Tessuti because I wanted to focus on getting a good fit. These shorts close with an invisible zipper at the side and don’t have any pockets. This made it easier to make fit adjustments. 



I’m happy with how the turned out. I used some denim I had lying around. It has a very nice texture to it. I had to make some adjustments to the crotch seam because it seemed like there was extra fabric bunching up there. 

The top is the Bento tee from Liesl+Co. To be honest, I’ve had this tee about three-quarters done for the longest time. It’d been languishing in my sewing room, waiting for me to put on the sleeve cuffs and finish the hem. The fabric is a crepe knit from Spotlight and has a lot of drape. I wasn’t sure if I liked how the tee looked in such a drapey knit, hence all the procrastination. On a whim, I finally decided to finish it. Now I really like it. 



It’s very comfortable to wear and doesn’t need any ironing! Win-win!



A close-up of fabrics. 

Leave a Reply

