Skip to content
March 10, 2015 / fionamakes

Selfish Sewing week #1: A Bess top

I’ve had my eye on the Bess top for quite a while, I must admit. I finally caved and purchased the pattern for Selfish Sewing Week (which is going on now!). Not that I need an excuse to sew for myself really – I do that all the time! 

The Bess top has all the things I like in a pattern. A simple silhouette because I like something that I can wear everyday, doing ‘mom’ stuff. These sort of extended sleeves are my favorite too – they provide a little more coverage without having to set in sleeves. And a couple of special details like the wrap-around sleeve and the pleat, that differentiates the top from a regular tee. 



The hem dips down in the back. 



The neckline, sleeves and hem are all finished with strips of jersey. This was the first time I’ve used this method to finish curves and I must say I like it. It’s very fast and less fiddly than using regular bias tape. 

I dug into my stash for the fabric! I bought this Nani Iro double gauze, maybe a couple of years ago and I’ve pulled it out several times with the intention of using it, only to falter at the last minute because I couldn’t bear to cut into it. I’m really glad I finally used it though. Those dots look like they’ve been painted on!



Detail of the sleeve and pleat. 



One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Mar 11 2015 2:21 am

    I’ve been eyeing this top for a while, too. It is a great showcase for your gorgeous fabric. I bet you’ll wear it a lot so it’s perfect that you used your special fabric for it!

Leave a Reply

