Skip to content
March 2, 2015 / fionamakes

Mulberry tunic, boy-version, and Art Museum pants 

This is N’s other new outfit for the Lunar New Year. I decided that he needed a dressier outfit, but he’s not that keen on collared shirts so the Mulberry tunic was a happy medium. 



The top is an old Michael Miller bicycle print, and the rest is Robert Kaufman Slub chambray in Indigo, that I purchased from here. I’m super happy with how it turned out. I used some textured navy buttons to finish the shirt. 



I made a last minute decision to purchase the Art Museum trousers sewing pattern. I love the slim cut of this pants. I think it suits N better than wider cut pants. 



Fully functional welt pockets at the back. They aren’t perfect, but I’m happy enough with them. 





I used more of the bicycle print for the pants’ facing, bound with bright red bias binding. They won’t show on the outside but I really like how they finish the inside of the pants. 



I don’t know what this fabric is – I just dug it out of my fabric box. I don’t remember what I even bought it for, but I think it’s viscose. It reminds me of some of my husband’s pants. I used that fact to convince N that he needed to have pants “just like dad’s”!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Thimberlina / Mar 2 2015 3:37 pm

    He looks super cool! They look so expensive and very RTW! 😃✂️😃

  2. Inder / Mar 2 2015 7:36 pm

    This is such a nice ensemble! I love both pieces, and you really have nailed the look of fine men’s trousers with those pants! The Mulberry Tunic is such an interesting, cool, different pattern. Must try that one out one of these days!

    • fionamakes / Mar 4 2015 1:20 pm

      Thanks, Inder! I like the Mulberry tunic because it works for both boys AND girls! And I was pretty excited about those trousers. N was so much more blasé!

  3. teri dodds / Mar 2 2015 10:26 pm

    I love how this outfit turned out! I have the Art Museum trouser/vest pattern and I’ve made the vest but not the pants yet. I have it in the smaller size range but my older guy has already outgrown it. I may have to get the larger range so I can make the pants for him. Your son looks so sharp in his!

    • fionamakes / Mar 4 2015 1:21 pm

      Thanks, Teri! I wanted to give the vest a go, but ran out of time. Next time!

Leave a Reply

