Skip to content
February 23, 2015 / fionamakes

Sew Chic blouse

It’s another Japanese pattern! A result of a confluence of various things. First off, there’s a Japan Sewalong going on over on Instagram (#japansewalong) and on this blog. Then, there’s a possibility that this top may eventually become a class on using Japanese sewing patterns. And finally, the tracing paper was out already since I had to trace out N’s shorts. Might as well get one more traced out.

This is the book I used.

IMG_0165

And these were a few i shortlisted.

IMG_0699

The top on the left won in the end. This is my version.

IMG_0557

The fabric is a bright pink linen from the stash. I must have bought it to make something for my girls, but that never happened, so it’s mine now!

I only made one small change to the pattern, which was to shorten it to the length of the top right blouse. Both tops use the same pattern piece so it was just a matter of tracing the shorter top.

IMG_0565-0

I do like the sleeve detail. A gathered ruffle is attached to the hem, but then there’s an extra fold in the sleeve hem that helps to tone down the gathers.

There’s a fair amount of ease built into the pattern so I could probably have stood to go down a size. Still, it’s a loose comfy top that will go well with jeans.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Feb 23 2015 6:43 pm

    Yours turned out so nice! I like the shorter length on a top with more volume. Your linen is such a pretty color, too.

    • fionamakes / Feb 25 2015 1:30 pm

      Thanks, TerI! I’m relieved! The first time I tried a Japanese sewing pattern, I got so lost I gave up!

  2. :: stoffbüro :: / Feb 23 2015 8:05 pm

    What a beautiful blouse! I was always tempted by that pattern and at the same time sceptical. Now I know why: It’s the length. I like your shorter version much better than the long one in the book!

    • fionamakes / Feb 25 2015 1:32 pm

      Thank you for the kind comment! I should confess I shortened the top because I thought I’m shorter than average! I’m happy it turned out to be a good decision!

  3. Griselda K / Feb 24 2015 11:39 am

    Very nice! I love the colour.

    • fionamakes / Feb 25 2015 1:33 pm

      Thanks! It’s certainly very bright, isn’t it?!

  4. Kate Carvalho / Feb 25 2015 9:34 am

    Wow, looks great! Shortening the length was a great idea. I like that it’s simple, but the gathering and the ruffle sleeves make it interesting.

    • fionamakes / Feb 25 2015 1:33 pm

      Yes, that’s exactly what drew me to the pattern too – those interesting little details!

Leave a Reply

