Skip to content
February 20, 2015 / fionamakes

Happy Homemade kids shorts

I have to admit that I’ve been really slow to get into Japanese sewing patterns. And they do have really cute sewing patterns, but it’s just so tedious to trace the patterns and then add seam allowances. Just one more step that I have to get around to, when I’d really rather just be sewing!

I did finally feel guilty about all the Japanese pattern books I’ve accumulated though, so I hunkered down and got it done!

This is the book I used.

IMG_0678

And the shorts I decided on is the one on the boy on the cover. (There are lots of cute girly outfits in this book, which I will revisit soon!)

And this is it on N.

IMG_0675

I chose the size (120) according to his height, but he’s a skinny one, so the elastic cinches in the shorts quite a bit. I could probably have gone a size down.

The fabric is a twill from Spotlight, bought a while ago. It’s perfect for a little boy who loves all things army.

IMG_0677

The shorts have a faux fly – the fly shield is cut separately from the shorts, which is different from other shorts patterns that I’ve done. I really like it this way though, because when you join the fly piece to the shorts, the seam creates a very neat and defined faux fly.

The instructions also have you do an extra line of stitching around the front crotch for added durability. I’m pretty happy with how it looks too.

I have the Japanese version of the book (and I don’t read Japanese!), but it’s now available in English. The diagrams were clear enough that I could do without reading the instructions though.

N was delighted with them – which makes me think I really should sew more for him!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Feb 21 2015 4:04 am

    I have this book and I definitely need to make those shorts for my guys next summer! I really like that fabric!

Leave a Reply

