Skip to content
January 29, 2015 / fionamakes

More Lindens

The Linden sweatshirt, I have to come to realise, is like a palate cleanser. It’s fast and quick to sew up, so I have turned to it twice in between other more complicated projects to get some instant gratification. And where I live, I don’t even need sweatshirts!

IMG_0068

This is version number two. I dug the spotty fabric out of the remnant bin in a fabric shop in Kyoto. I wasn’t quite sure what it was but forged ahead anyway. It’s a woven, not a knit which is what’s recommended for the Linden sweatshirt.

IMG_0070

I used the same size as my first Linden which was in a knit. There was enough ease in it so that I could even slim it down slightly under the arms. I did have to increase the length of the neckband by of a total of 3″ to account for the lack of stretch in the fabric. It’s very comfortable to wear in this thin drapey fabric.

IMG_0252

And then there’s this one, which should be my last version for quite a while, I think. The fabric is a metallic french terry from the remnant bin in Kyoto. It was a short piece, maybe around a yard or so. But thanks to the extra width, I was able to eke all the pattern pieces out.

IMG_0170

Because of the sparkly metallic bits in the fabric, this feels dressier, so I don’t think I’ll be pulling it out on a daily basis. But I still love it!

IMG_0271

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Inder / Jan 30 2015 12:14 am

    I love these! I would not have thought to do this in a woven, but it looks great! So classy! The sort of basic blouse I love to wear with a suit. I have been resisting the Linden … mightily … but if it’s good with wovens too, oh, it’s tough!

    • fionamakes / Jan 30 2015 1:48 am

      Thanks, Inder! Making it in a woven was an experiment that luckily turned out well! Phew!

  2. Dani Malloy / Jan 30 2015 3:16 pm

    This is such a gratifying make that I’m afraid I’ll end up with 10 of them in my closet! Yours look great. I particularly like that metallic french terry—I’ve never seen any before!

    • fionamakes / Jan 31 2015 1:06 am

      I know what you mean! I keep telling myself I really don’t need anymore… And thanks!

  3. Noelle / Feb 25 2015 12:38 am

    Love the idea of making it in a woven. Because I needed an excuse to make more. 😉

Leave a Reply

