Skip to content
January 20, 2015 / fionamakes

A little Zippy top and a 2+2 skirt

On a couple of occasions last year, it became quite evident that E has nothing to wear! It’s fine everyday when she gets to throw on a pair of leggings and a t-shirt, but when we were headed out to the theatre or a more formal dinner, we had a hard time finding something in her closet that she would wear. There are maybe one or two dresses still, but she refuses all dresses these days.

So when planning this year’s new year sewing for E, I was determined to rectify this problem.

This is the first outfit.

2015/01/img_0087.jpg

I liked my own Zippy tops enough to get the kids-sized version! The pattern is here. Unlike mine though, I couldn’t skip the zipper in the back – it’s essential for getting it over her head! And I had a perfectly matching one in my stash! (E’s not a fan of the zipper though; I’ve been instructed to change it to a button and loop if I make this again.)

2015/01/img_0089.jpg

The fabric is an odd-sized remnant of Lisette lawn I had leftover after making an infinity scarf last year. It was just enough, so yay for scrap-busting! Because the lawn is thin, I lined the whole top in white voile. It’s very soft and so feels really nice and cool. I topstitched the zipper along the length, but decided to handsew the tops of the zipper tape down so that it would look neater.

As for the skirt, I pulled out this pattern. It’s an old one – and is the paper version, before they started offering digital patterns! I’ve never made the skirt, only the blouse three times before. When I realized that the pattern max-es out at 8, that clinched it for me. E turns 9, in a couple of weeks but is still within the size range for an 8. I just added an inch in length to the skirt pieces, and she’s happy with the length.

2015/01/img_0084.jpg

A close-up of the pleats.

As always for Oliver+S, the pattern comes together beautifully. I had a one-yard cut of this magenta denim, which was just right. It’s a rich vibrant color. And I had just one of this cute wooden button inky button box to close the skirt.

2015/01/img_0090.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Beth / Jan 21 2015 1:31 pm

    This is a very cute outfit, I love the colours. And the little button is adorable!

    • fionamakes / Jan 23 2015 1:47 am

      Thanks, Beth! I’m pretty happy how well the colours worked out together too!

Leave a Reply

