Skip to content
January 16, 2015 / fionamakes

Geometric Fawn Lily dress

The Fawn Lily dress pattern was one that I picked up during last year’s Black Friday sale. It was half price, I think, so I could resist no longer!

I really like the shape of the dress, nicely fitted on the top, then super swingy below (for the pleated and gathered versions at least).

2015/01/img_0045.jpg

L is 5, but she measured in the size 3 range so that’s what I went with in terms of width. I cut a size 4 for length though. There are no closures in my version, but the crossover front bodice allows for enough room for the dress to be pulled over her head. It feels just a little tight when I do this, so I will size up to a 4 when I make this again.

2015/01/img_0048.jpg

The front and back bodice is a grey linen that I dug out of my scraps box. Because it felt very floppy, I decided to interface the front bodice pieces. I didn’t want them to gap open when she sat down. I used the blue skirt fabric to make matching piping. It was my first time doing this – I had no piping cord at home, but plenty of store-bought piping so I just unpicked what I needed and sewed that up into piping. There are in seam pockets. But they turned out too high up, probably because I should have followed the notches for the size 5, rather than the 4.

2015/01/img_0049.jpg

She approves! And she could point out the crossover bodice as her favorite part of the dress. The blue geometric fabric is from Spotlight, part of my haul from their post-Christmas sale. We’ll be saving this for the Chinese New Year too!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Jan 16 2015 3:20 am

    I love this! Ever since I saw this pattern for the first time I have been wishing it would come in women’s sizes. That bodice is just so cute! It looks like such a comfortable dress.

  2. Inder / Jan 16 2015 10:59 pm

    This is really gorgeous. That matching piping just makes it!

Leave a Reply

