Skip to content
January 12, 2015 / fionamakes

Pink floral Charlie dress

Because it’s tradition that we start off the Chinese New Year with completely new outfits for everyone, the beginning of the year is always a busy sewing period for me. (The Chinese New Year starts this year on 19 February.)

I like tackling the girls’ outfits first! There are so many options; I have a lot of fun planning and discussing what they’d like with them.

L is still firmly in the dresses-are-best camp, quite unlike her older sister. I’m happy to oblige!

2015/01/img_0041.jpg

This is the second iteration of the Charlie dress from Mingo and Grace. I used a pretty pink floral poplin that I bought from Kyoto a few years ago. I was happy to use up some of my stash.

2015/01/img_0052.jpg

After struggling with the instructions for binding the neckline and armholes the last time, I decided to use a half- lining instead. It was very easy to draft, since it was just a matter of copying the top of the front and back bodice pieces. Sewing this time went much quicker too.

L’s favorite color is blue (thanks to Elsa!), so she picked out a blue button for the back closure.

2015/01/img_0044.jpg

She is such a great model.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Jan 12 2015 6:23 pm

    That fabric is really pretty! The dress is adorable!

    • fionamakes / Jan 13 2015 8:56 am

      Thanks, Teri! The print on the fabric is teally pretty, but the fabric itself is very crisp! So I’m glad the dress turned out ok!

  2. Ruth / Jan 13 2015 8:54 am

    She looks like she loves her new dress! I think it looks lovely too.

    • fionamakes / Jan 13 2015 8:57 am

      Thanks, Ruth! Luckily for me, she likes it, even though it’s not blue!

  3. Becky Phillips / Feb 3 2016 8:06 pm

    I have a tried-and-true method for binding the neck and armholes of the Charlie dress. I’m Becky at bphilofcr (at) gmail.com.

Trackbacks

  1. Charlie dress | girl with a sewing machine

Leave a Reply

