Skip to content
January 1, 2015 / fionamakes

Looking back on 2014

I’ve been enjoying reading everyone’s Top 5 lists over the last couple of weeks, so I thought I’d do a quick abbreviated version of my own.

I have made a total of 66 garments over the past year. I started with a loose goal of sewing one item each week, and it has averaged out to be just slightly more than that. I’ve sewed mostly for myself and my two girls. Of those 66 garments, only 4 were for my boys. Oops… It was a combination of very little interest in clothing from my older son, and an already overflowing wardrobe for my younger son that was responsible for that!

Top 5 hits

1. My Zippy tops: here and here

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2015/01/img_9926.jpg

Getting the pattern pieced together wasn’t the easiest job, but once it’s done, it was worth it! The tops fit well, are comfortable and go with everything.

2. Pia dress

Definitely my favorite dress this year.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2015/01/img_9529.jpg

I blogged all about it here. And I have another cut out, ready to sew.

3. Skater dresses

I started out the year declaring to my husband that I wasn’t going to start sewing with knits. But then my girls forced a change of heart because that’s all they wanted to wear!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2015/01/img_9927.jpg

4. Birthday Hide and Seek dress

I made this dress for L’s 5th birthday and she still calls it her birthday dress! She also reminds me consistently that she loves it so its a win for me!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2015/01/img_9545.jpg

5. Moss skirts

I made 2 of these earlier in the year and they are workhorses!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2015/01/img_9930.jpg

Top 5 Goals

1. One garment a week

I started out last year with this goal and I think it’s something I’d like to repeat again. I usually have fits and starts when I sew, so I can go weeks without the time or energy to finish anything. I just need to make sure I have other weeks of productivity.

2. Take my time

This is a hard one, because a lot of the time, I feel so pressed for time. But I’ve noticed that if I work too long on one project, I tend to rush through things near the end just so I can get it done. Time to take it slow!

3. Techniques

I have a couple of techniques I’d like to get more familiar with. Welt pockets is one. And collars! I’ve made collared shirts before but I really want to get really great looking collars under my belt.

4. Tatting

So this isn’t strictly sewing, but I just want to get this mastered! I have some ideas to add tatted lace to garments that I want to try out.

5. Teach

One of the highlights this year was getting to teach sewing. I’m really grateful for it! I’ve found it so enjoyable to be able to teach someone else to make their own clothes. So I’m looking forward to doing more of it. On a more personal level, I’m hoping to start teaching my older daughter some handsewing and simple machine sewing. She’s ready for it!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Jan 1 2015 7:31 pm

    I don’t think I even realized you had two sons! I have enjoyed following along with your sewing this year. Your zippy tips are so cute– it’s a pattern that I don’t have but often wonder if I should get. It looks like something that would easily become a tried and true pattern. I’m looking forward to seeing what you make in 2015!

    • fionamakes / Jan 2 2015 12:21 am

      Haha! Now I feel like I should make up for the neglect this year! Thanks, Teri! I always look forward to reading your blog!

  2. gilliancrafts / Jan 9 2015 1:22 am

    Great round-up, Fiona! Thanks for joining in the Top 5 lists – and hope you have a fab 2015, full of lots of tatting, teaching, and sewing slowly by steadily! 🙂

Leave a Reply

