Skip to content
December 31, 2014 / fionamakes

When I jumped on the bandwagon

It’s the last day of the year and I have two more makes to blog! Both were recent makes that I finished this month.

Before we left for Japan, I had prepared and cut out the pattern pieces for the Sutton blouse. I’m always up for a top that is loose and comfy so this looked like it fit the bill. I didn’t want it overly big though, so I decided to go down two sizes. In the end, I think maybe going down one size would have been enough.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9897.jpg

It fits fine right now but for some reason I haven’t managed to figure out, I think the sleeve tend to stick out a little more than I’d like.

This was a scrapbusting top: both fabrics were leftovers from other makes. A side view so you can see the longer back hem.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9900.jpg

The other make is the Linden sweatshirt. Now I live in tropical weather so I really don’t have a need for a sweatshirt, but I really liked the short sleeves on View B. I used a lightweight knit that I picked up from the remnant bin of a fabric shop in Kyoto. Everything was in Japanese, of course, so I really have no other what this floral fabric is, other than its a knit with stretch.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9836.jpg

I had to trim little off the sleeves, but otherwise made no adjustments. I am thinking of sizing down if I make this again, since I won’t wear it as a sweatshirt.

Updated to add: when I sewed I the neckband, I somehow managed to the seam of the neckband was smack dab at the centre front, instead of centre back. Ugh! I had to unpick the whole thing and redo it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9836-0.jpg

And that it for my sewing this year!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Dec 31 2014 6:38 pm

    They both look great! I really like your Linden. I have been wondering how it would look in a lighter weight fabric– and it looks perfect!

Trackbacks

  1. Colorblocking and stash busting  | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

