Skip to content
December 27, 2014 / fionamakes

Pia in blue

This dress is probably one of my favorite makes of the year. It’s loose, and so very comfortable. The fabric is pretty with a lovely sheen. And I’m pretty taken with those pockets as a design element.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9495.jpg

The pattern is the Pia dress from Tessuti. I’ve been oogling it for quite a while. Then a couple of weeks before I had to attend a wedding, I rationalized that I needed something new to wear.

So here we are. The fabric was bought locally. I’m don’t know what it is, but it has a nice drape and feels cool against the skin. Construction wasn’t too hard, just a little fiddly around the pockets. But the instructions were great and it turned out well.

So, right after I made it, I took a small poll on Instagram on whether or not to belt it and the overwhelming consensus was definitely to belt.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9538.jpg

But honestly, it’s way more comfortable to wear it without a belt and so that’s what I’ve been doing most of the time!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9529.jpg

I definitely am planning on one more Pia dress. I’ve been on the look out for a printed linen for a while, but didn’t have much luck finding a print I liked. But I did luck out yesterday at Spotlight’s 40% off sale, so I hope to have another Pia dress done in the next couple of weeks.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sewbusylizzy / Dec 27 2014 8:58 pm

    I got some rayon at the Spotlight sale yesterday… and some lovely blue floral linen/rayon from Lincraft which is having a 40% off everything sale at the moment.

  2. Inder / Dec 29 2014 9:32 pm

    I like it without the belt too! The lines and the pockets keep it from being too baggy although belted is a bit more “polished” (but sometimes it’s okay if you can’t be bothered to be polished, right?). Very nice!

    • fionamakes / Dec 30 2014 4:42 pm

      Thanks, Inder! I do love this dress. ‘Polished’ with the belt if I have to be a bit more dressed up and without the rest of the time!

Trackbacks

  1. Looking back on 2014 | fiona makes
  2. Linen Pia | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

