Skip to content
December 26, 2014 / fionamakes

A Charlie dress for Christmas

I stumbled upon the Charlie dress sewing pattern a while ago. I loved the silhouette of the dress. (It reminds me a lot of the Japanese style of seeing patterns.) It looked swingy, twirly and comfortable. I had also never sewed a dropwaist dress for my girls before, and so I was eager to give it a go. While we were away in Japan, there was a sale and I managed to snap up the pattern.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9849.jpg

I had just enough of this fabric left over from making a Zippy top for myself. And L has been in a I-love-blue phase, so everything fell into place. About two weeks ago, when the kids were spending the day with their grandparents, this was the dress that got me out of my sewing slump!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9851.jpg

The dress closes with a self-fabric loop and button, and uses bias tape to finish the neckline and armholes. I have to admit, I’m not a fan of the way the instructions tell you to apply the bias tape. The bias tape and the dress have different seam allowances and you have to just sew them together, and only then do you trim down the seam allowance of the dress to match the bias tape. I found this fiddly and not very instinctive. On my second version, I drafted a half-facing for the dress. Another easy fix would be just to trim down the seam allowances of the neckline and armholes to match those of the bias tape before sewing them together.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c87/56988140/files/2014/12/img_9839.jpg

Anyway, it was a success! L loved what she now calls her ‘Christmas dress’. There’ll be a floral version for Chinese New Year.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Dec 27 2014 3:10 am

    It’s so cute! She is such a good little model, too!

    • fionamakes / Dec 27 2014 2:06 pm

      Thanks, Teri! Im lucky she still likes to model for me!

Leave a Reply

