Skip to content
December 4, 2014 / fionamakes

Some softie-making

Such a long time has passed since my last blog post! In that time, the kids finished up their year at school, one of them had a kindergarten graduation, two of them had their ears pierced, and we all packed up and left for an eleven-day holiday to Osaka and Kyoto in Japan. Life has been truly very full.

A while before we left, I got it into my head that I wanted to make a little softie for a little baby boy at church. I had seen this tutorial a long time ago, and filed it away under future makes. I figured it’d be cute for a baby, right?

What I always forget though, is that I have a bunch of kids with grabby hands at home! And once they saw what I was up to, they had to have their own too! So it’s never a case of just making one, I end up having to make a whole family!

IMG_9427.JPG

This was my first iteration, all from leftover fabric. This is definitely my favourite. The kids were not so impressed.

IMG_9426.JPG

These were more their speed. The rainbow fabric is from Spotlight. I had bought meters last year for rainbow pants that I made for a fund-raising theatre production.

IMG_9425.JPG

One last softie, this one was a joint effort between by older, 8-year-old daughter and me. This was a super early Christmas present for one of her best friends. E did all the embroidered face details herself, with just a little guidance from me. I think it turned out very cute!

IMG_9423.JPG

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Kathryn / Dec 6 2014 6:27 pm

    I love having kids make Christmas presents, it means so much more to them and the results are so cute! (E has some impressive sewing skills for an 8 year old!)

Leave a Reply

