Skip to content
October 30, 2014 / fionamakes

Blog hop!

Earlier this month, I was nominated by Teri from Fa Sew La for a blog hop. I’m finally getting down to it!

What have you been doing / making / scribbling at your desk this week?

This week, I have been working on a new pattern I just purchased, the Geometry Top. It wasn’t quite as straightforward as I had thought, but it is done, and I’m very happy with the final result. I also cut out a skirt for my youngest daughter. I’ve mentioned that she seems to be going through a growth spurt, so I’ve been trying to catch up. A lot of the time, this is how I decide what to sew for my kids. Every time I put their clothes away, I get a good look at their wardrobes so I can see what they’re lacking. When I sew for myself, I just pick whatever catches my eye at the moment, so it’s not need-based!

IMG_9218-0.JPG

I’ve also been thinking about a couple of classes that I’ll be teaching over the next two Saturdays. They’re from patterns that I’ve already sewed up, so I’m familiar with them. But I like thinking and reminding myself about the different processes, so that I’ll be ready for the class. I have also been planning for a new class, that won’t be about dressmaking, that will hopefully happen in December.

Where I live, Halloween isn’t a big thing at all, so I never have to make costumes. I always breathe sigh of relief about that!

Where are you currently finding your inspirations? (Influences, heroes, sources of inspirations, paths exploring)?

I follow a lot of sewing blogs, which is a great source of inspiration for me. It’s one thing to see a pattern as it is, but quite another to see it made up by a variety of sewists. I also get a lot of inspiration from Instagram (@fionamakes) and Pinterest (my boards are here). Instagram is probably my favorite though. I like the visual-ness of it.

I always keep an eye out when I’m out at running errands too. I hardly do any clothes shopping for myself, since I can sew most of my own wardrobe. But I do pay attention to what I see in shop windows. It helps me focus on what to sew for myself next, while keeping in mind what I need for my lifestyle, which is mainly taking care of my family!

How important is being creative to you, and how do you blend this with your work / life / family balance?

Being able to create is hugely important to me! I am a stay-at-home mom and while I love being able to be home for my kids, it can also feel quite limiting. So sewing is something that I do for myself, to make me happy. Being able to take a sewing pattern and some fabric, and turn into something that either I or my kids love to wear, is so gratifying for me.

I have a precious few hours a few times a week when all the kids are in school, and that’s my sewing time. It doesn’t always happen because everything depends on the kids’ schedules, but when it does, it’s great! I used to sew a lot after the kids go to bed, but nowadays I’m usually too exhausted to get much done then. At most, I’d finish up some hemming or something simple like that. I have a wonderfully supportive husband, who willingly lets me take off on Saturdays to teach sewing. I don’t teach every weekend, but when I do, I’m thankful that he’s so supportive.

Thanks for the nomination, Teri! It’s always fun reading about what you’re sewing!

If you’re reading this, and you’d like to play along, then I nominate you. Do leave a link in the comments so that I can take a peek!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Teri / Oct 30 2014 12:33 pm

    I loved reading this! I had no idea that you reach sewing sometimes– how fun!

Leave a Reply

