Skip to content
October 17, 2014 / fionamakes

Hopscotch dress

Just because the ballpoint needle was in the machine, and this strawberry interlock has been languishing on a shelf, this dress was made!

I initially bought the Hopscotch pattern solely for the skirt. I just couldn’t resist those cleverly folded pockets!

But since I felt like flexing some stretch-sewing muscle, I printed out the dress pattern on a whim and got working.

IMG_9054.JPG

L actually squealed out loud when she saw the strawberries! This is a size 5 and fits her just right, I think. (She did only just turn five though.)

IMG_9067.JPG

When I first finished it, I did wonder if it looked too much like a nightgown to wear out of the house! But then I decided that the strawberry fabric had to see the light of day!

IMG_9066.JPG

She keeps posing like this! Without any direction!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Inder / Oct 17 2014 9:38 pm

    She is so adorable! And the dress is so cute. I have some pink knit set aside to do a hopscotch shirt for my little girl this fall/winter, it’s a great, simple pattern and of course, my kids prefer to wear comfy knits when they can!

    • fionamakes / Oct 18 2014 1:01 pm

      Thanks, Inder! My girls love their comfy knits, but luckily the little one will still wear wovens. Not so for the older one though…

  2. Ruth / Oct 21 2014 11:09 am

    I think it looks great šŸ™‚ I wish I could get my hands on some cute knits. They seem so hard to find in Canberra.

    • fionamakes / Oct 21 2014 12:13 pm

      Thanks, Ruth! I got this knit from fabric.com – I don’t have a lot of variety locally too. I’ve also bought from Spotlight.

  3. Kathryn / Nov 7 2014 4:47 pm

    Adorable! I love sweet little prints like that, so glad you decided it was a real dress šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

