Skip to content
October 7, 2014 / fionamakes

Sewing a basic

I wasn’t even sure that I was going to blog about this skirt. This was actually my first version of the Maria Denmark Yasmin Yoke Skirt. Since this was going to be my muslin, I decided to use just a simple plain chambray-like fabric I had bought from Chinatown. Nothing fancy!

Then to elevate it from complete boredom, I thought I’d topstitch the pockets and hem in a navy topstitching thread.

To be honest, I was somewhat underwhelmed when I finished the skirt. I had had to make some fitting adjustments, mainly to bring in the waist. But once that was done, the skirt was completely wearable. Except that it still seemed kind of, well, boring.

But I guess all that it needed was some time to grow on me – because I love it now!

IMG_8920.JPG

I love how it looks with a plain white tee! Casual but I love how the colors look together. The skirt also goes with almost everything in my closet, so it’s very versatile.

My other version is here.

Leave a Reply

