Skip to content
October 2, 2014 / fionamakes

In which I declare my love for culottes

I really do love culottes. It’s the comfort of having something that feels like pants on, combined with the swishy-ness and fullness of a skirt, that is such a nice combination. It’s secret pants!

So I’ve been eagerly awaiting the launch of Liesl+Co.’s Girl Friday culottes for quite a while now. I’m pretty sure this is the first time ever that I’ve had my fabric picked out, washed and ready to go even before the pattern was released!

I picked a fairly heavy white linen, even though I knew it’d be unpractical for my mom lifestyle, but I just couldn’t get the idea of white linen culottes out of my head. True enough, I managed to some chocolate frosting on it the first time I had it on! (It was L’s birthday celebration in school!) I cannot tell you how happy I was that it came out in the wash! Stain remover rescued me.

IMG_8843.JPG

IMG_8869.JPG
With my gingham Scout tee

I shortened the pattern significantly (by about 10″) because I wanted the culottes to end just below the knee. The culottes close with a neat zipper that’s hidden in the left pocket. I didn’t have a regular white zipper at home so I had to use a navy blue one – good thing you can’t see it! I find the pleats fascinating. I couldn’t figure out how they worked from the line drawing of the pattern, but they really are quite ingenious. I chose to close the waistband with a skirt bar and hook, but I might try a button for my next iteration of this pattern.

I have one more pair cut out and almost done, in a size bigger because while this white pair fits, it feels pretty snug around the waist.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ruth / Oct 2 2014 4:05 am

    They look great šŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Girl Friday meets Parenthetical | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

