Skip to content
September 22, 2014 / fionamakes

A piped hem

It’s been about three months since my last kids’ clothing post – that’s how long it’s been since I’ve made anything for any of them! But their closets were full, so I had some justification to sew for myself instead. In the last few weeks, however, it has become apparent that my youngest has been going through a growth spurt. Her skirts were getting shorter!

So this skirt was made!

IMG_8787.JPG

The skirt is made with the Oliver+S Lazy Days skirt tutorial but with a piped hem tutorial from here.

IMG_8815.JPG

The fabric is a quilting cotton that I got on clearance a while ago. It’s a vibrant green mosaic print. And I used lemon yellow piping for contrast.

IMG_8789.JPG

I quite like how the piping adds a little stiffness to the hem of the skirt so that it stands out a little.

One more photo just because. (She needed no direction for any of these photos!)

IMG_8816.JPG

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Froo & Boo / Sep 22 2014 4:44 pm

    Lovely skirt! Your daughter is adorable. My mom used to cut my daughter’s hair just like your daughter’s, but since we’ve moved away, I’ve let her bangs grow out. So cute!

    • fionamakes / Sep 23 2014 12:43 am

      Thank you! And thanks for the tutorial! I’d love to have my little girl grow out her bangs but she hates having anything in her hair to hold it back, so the growing out process gets too hard!

  2. teri dodds / Sep 23 2014 1:08 am

    She’s adorable! The piping is a great addition to the skirt!

  3. Ruth / Oct 2 2014 8:41 am

    It looks great – you’ve done such a neat job and the yellow is the perfect complement to the green. Your daughter looks lovely.

Leave a Reply

