Skip to content
September 18, 2014 / fionamakes

A Yasmin yoke skirt

It’s been a while since my last post. Sick kids and a short term break will do that!

I was in search of an A-line skirt with a yoke or a waistband and this is what I found. The pattern comes without seam allowances which is usually daunting for me, but I think I wanted this skirt enough to make me get it anyway.

The skirt has pockets and closes with an invisible zipper at the back, which allows for easy fitting adjustments to be made along the side seams. I did have to take in the side seams from the waist to around hip level.

IMG_8786.JPG

This fabric was an impulse buy – the shopkeeper managed to talk me to into it. It’s a midweight black cotton with silver line drawings on it.

IMG_8790.JPG

The skirt is a little less A-line than I expected when worn. It looks like more of a straight skirt to me but I’m still happy with it and it will get lots of wear, I’m sure! While dresses are nice, I keep picking separates for daily wear so it just doesn’t seem practical to sew dresses.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Sep 23 2014 1:11 am

    The skirt looks great. I really like that fabric!

    • fionamakes / Sep 23 2014 1:46 am

      Thanks, Teri! I wasn’t too sure at first but the fabric has grown on me!

Trackbacks

  1. Sewing cake | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

