Skip to content
August 18, 2014 / fionamakes

Pintucks on Sorbetto

I really like the look of pleats and tucks so I decided to give the Sorbetto another go, modifying it by taking out about half of the pleat in front and using pintucks to take up the reminder of the pleat allowance. There are a total of 7 pintucks: 3 longer ones in the middle, with 2 shorter ones on each side.

IMG_8511.JPG

The neckline and sleeves are bound with plaid bias tape from Daiso! The fabric is a lightweight denim with silvery and coppery patches. I wasn’t going to buy it, but the shopkeeper was quite persuasive.

IMG_8499.JPG

I wore it with my denim Grainline Studio Moss skirt – thought they went pretty well together!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marianne / Aug 18 2014 12:48 pm

    OH, I LOVE IT! I have the pattern, have recently done a couple tops with pintucks, but would never have thought to combine them. The fabric is gorgeous, too! Marianne

    • fionamakes / Aug 18 2014 1:41 pm

      Thanks, Marianne! I wasn’t too sure about the fabric at first, but it’s definitely grown on me!

  2. colleen / Aug 18 2014 3:09 pm

    Do you know what this fabric is? I love it so much and I’d love to buy some for my own self???? I came over from the Colette flickr page and I can’t say enough how perfect this fabric is for the pattern and the tucks! It’s just lovely.

    • fionamakes / Aug 18 2014 3:17 pm

      Hi Colleen, I brought this fabric locally (in Singapore) at Chinatown. Unfortunately, I don’t have any information on the fabric – so sorry I couldn’t be more helpful! Thanks so much for visiting!

      • colleen / Aug 19 2014 9:48 pm

        Oh, dear! Locally in Singapore wasn’t an answer I was ready for. It’s just really great! and looks beautiful on you!

      • Katie M / Dec 27 2014 10:08 am

        I love this fabric and, unbelievably, I live in Singapore. Do you remember which shop in Chinatown the fabric came from? Was it level 2 or 3 in People’s Park or somewhere else? I’m inspired to go hunting!

      • fionamakes / Dec 27 2014 10:10 am

        Oh! It was level 2! If im not wrong, the name of theshop is Choy Yin. The lady shopkeeper is really nice and helpful!

      • Katie M / Dec 29 2014 12:31 am

        Thanks so much Fiona. I’ll have a look next time I’m in Chinatown.

Leave a Reply

