Skip to content
August 4, 2014 / fionamakes

Some eyelet, and a blast from the past

Ever since making this dress, I have been obsessed with using the solid black rayon fabric. It just has such a lovely weight and drape, so I decided on pants. After some consideration, I figured Simplicity 1887 would be a good match.

Fair warning: this pattern has a LOT of ease built into it. I went down two sizes to avoid the super baggy look! I also shortened the pant length 2″.

20140804-180057-64857881.jpg

I love the end result, even though they seem a little ’80s-ish. The pants are very comfortable. I’m not totally convinced that pleated pants are for me, but I love the comfort level and the fabric too much to mind!

I also have a new top to go with the pants. I made this up a few weeks ago. I’ve had an eyelet top on my mind for a while – even making a special trip down to Chinatown to pick up the fabric. The pattern is the Zippy top. Like one of my previous makes, I left off the zip and facing, and finished both the neckline and sleeves with bias tape. It’s just like how I pictured it in my head so I’m pleased.

20140804-182250-66170209.jpg

I need to not slouch when taking photos.

Leave a Reply

