Skip to content
July 30, 2014 / fionamakes

A Two-tone top, and a necklace

I stumbled upon this free pattern yesterday afternoon, and by bed time, I had just the sleeve finishing and hem left to complete! It’s a pretty fast sew!

Even better, it’s free! It’s the two-tone singlet pattern from Teach Me Fashion, which is an Australian company. The pattern comes with brief instructions, but a nicely detailed YouTube video demonstrating the construction of the top. I didn’t follow all the instructions as I preferred finishing the neckline and sleeves with store-bought bias binding. It’s very quick this way. I also lowered the front neckline an inch, and left off the topstitching around the square insets because I didn’t want to add a line of stitching on the eyelet.

20140730-214100-78060861.jpg

I chose a white eyelet that I’ve had lurking around on my stash for a while and paired it with a lovely lawn from Kyoto a couple years back. It was in the remnant bin, and in a half metre length. I’ve pulled it out many times since but was always foiled by the short length! It was the perfect amount for the top though! Serendipitous.

20140730-214358-78238892.jpg

There are a few tucks at the back, although they aren’t quite visible here.

20140730-214456-78296315.jpg

I wasn’t sure how I felt about the tank straight after making it. It’s a little big on me, and quite boxy. But it’s a very comfortable wear because the fabrics are so light. I’d wear it for that!

On an unrelated note, I got to wear a hexie necklace I made a while back. Love the colours! I got the plain wooden beads off Etsy, gave them a couple of costs of acrylic paint and a layer of varnish, then put them on a ball chain. Easy.

20140730-214747-78467669.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Jul 30 2014 6:21 pm

    I saw this shirt on another blog a while ago and I’ve been wondering about making it. I love the fabrics you chose! It looks really nice on you.

  2. fionamakes / Jul 31 2014 1:31 pm

    Thanks, Teri! After wearing it for most of today, I think I’ve decided that I like it!

Leave a Reply

