Skip to content
July 21, 2014 / fionamakes

Weekend Getaway dress

Finally, a dress!

It’s been so long since I last made a dress! I wear separates most of the time so it made sense to focus on building up the number of separates in my wardrobe but I finally decided a dress was in order for a special occasion next week.

This is Liesl + Co.’s Weekend Getaway dress. I’ve made up the blouse length twice before – but this is my first dress length version.

20140721-185033-67833607.jpg

The fabric is a rayon challis with a brushstroke print. I had to be really careful when cutting it out, to make sure that the fabric wouldn’t slip away from me. The facing is a solid black rayon twill. In the course of making up this dress, I have decided that I love the black rayon. It’s drapey but also hefty at the same time.

20140721-185706-68226383.jpg

Modifications: I sewed up the front about an inch higher than the pattern instructions. I also had to shorten the dress about 2″ (I think!) – but then I’m short!

This is a very comfortable dress, because the fabric is so drapey and soft. I don’t usually do long sleeves because of the tropical weather here, but I don’t mind the sleeves here at all!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Jul 21 2014 9:28 pm

    That dress looks great! I love your fabric!!

    • fionamakes / Jul 22 2014 10:45 am

      Thanks, Teri! I’m planning to wear it for my wedding anniversary! šŸ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Eyelet, and a blast from the past | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

