Skip to content
July 1, 2014 / fionamakes

New shorts…

And they fit too!

After my last post, it seemed to me that I needed some new bottoms! I have a couple of really old bermuda-length shorts in my wardrobe that could do with replacing. I just had to decide on which pattern to use. I have both Grainline Studio’s Maritime shorts pattern and Colette Patterns Iris shorts pattern. I liked the look of both but eventually decided to go with the Iris shorts only because an invisible zipper would go quicker than a front fly zip. So Iris it was!

I decided on a size 10, but cut a size 18 length. Short shorts aren’t really my thing! I was very happy with the additional length.

20140701-174549-63949925.jpg

This was supposed to be just a muslin, so I made it out of a remnant piece of tribal print linen. I was pleasantly surprised with the fit. The linen’s fairly drapey and wrinkles a lot, as you can see!

20140701-174830-64110476.jpg

Version 2 in a cotton linen blend (at least that’s what I was told when I bought this in Chinatown!). It looks like chambray to me. This will be a staple, I think, since it’ll go with almost any top I have!

There’s a hidden print in the pockets…

20140701-175621-64581917.jpg

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. springystitches / Jul 1 2014 11:27 am

    This pattern is just what I’m looking for! I love the pocket colour combo too.

    • fionamakes / Jul 2 2014 2:34 am

      Thanks! I like that the pattern isn’t too complicated! Good luck!

  2. kercatsews / Jul 1 2014 12:11 pm

    That’s a beautiful outcome! I’ve been wanting to sew some shorts too, and your shorts inspire me. Also, cute pockets ^_^

    • fionamakes / Jul 2 2014 2:35 am

      Thank you! I had just the right amount of scraps for the pockets so it worked out well!

  3. teri dodds / Jul 1 2014 3:39 pm

    Those look great! I’m still trying to get a good fit from this pattern.

  4. springystitches / Jul 4 2014 4:33 pm

    I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Have a look at my blog to find out about it. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

