Skip to content
June 23, 2014 / fionamakes

A couple of Zippy tops

After all that skirt sewing, I needed to move on to making something different. These Zippy Tops (pattern here) fit the bill. I think this type of top is my favourite: kimono sleeves (so no sleeves to set in), round neckline (that’s quick to sew), and a loose fit (which makes for a very comfy top).

This was my first version. Because it’s such a simple silhouette, I chose a busy print. The fabric is Lisette and has been in my stash for a while.

20140623-220500-79500621.jpg

I left off the exposed zip in the back for this version, and finished the neckline with self bias binding, instead of the facing that the pattern calls for. Had to add a small pocket, but I wanted it to blend in!

20140623-220638-79598516.jpg

I found the top a bit too long, so I shortened it about an inch and a half for my next version. I cut into some precious Nani Iro too! I only had a metre of this fabric, so I decided to use it for the front, with an off-white linen for the back. The stripes actually run parallel to the selvedge, but I chose to cut it on the crossgrain so that the stripes would run horizontally. I added a pocket with the stripes going the other way for visual interest.

20140623-221424-80064350.jpg

I’m undecided about the back. I was going to insert an exposed hot pink zipper but then changed my mind at the last minute and used this lace zipper instead.

20140623-221600-80160423.jpg

Still unsure about this so I might rip it out and replace it.

I didn’t really follow the sewing instructions that came with the pattern – just did it the way I preferred and that worked out well for me. Oh, and I didn’t really like that the PDF pattern came with no borders. I still managed to piece it together but it felt, well, inaccurate. I like the tops though: they are comfortable and I like how they look. I just wouldn’t want to put the PDF together again!

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teri dodds / Jun 23 2014 11:00 pm

    Very cute! I think if you do decide to rip out the zipper on the second top that the hot pink zipper would look great!

    • fionamakes / Jun 24 2014 12:39 am

      Thanks, Teri, yeah, I might just do that!

Trackbacks

  1. Looking back on 2014 | fiona makes

Leave a Reply

